Avocado chocolate mousse

I moved my blog to a new address. You can find more of my recipes, travel adventures and book reviews there.

I crave chocolate almost all day every day. I can have a chocolate smoothie for breakfast, a piece of chocolate with my coffee, a chocolate brownie after lunch etc. Also my friends noticed that if there is chocolate cake on the menu I will have it.

So this weekend for an after lunch treat I decided to prepare this avocado chocolate mousse as a healthier option for my chocolate addiction. I even used a banana as a sweetener and no added sugar. The mousse itself is not too sweet but with raspberries the whole dessert is sweet enough.

ppDSC08209_small

My kitchen space and also equipment is pretty minimalistic. I don’t have a food processor or a traditional blender and to puree or mix ingredients I use an ordinary immersion blender, a hand held mixer, a potato masher or a fork.

To prepare this mousse I used my potato masher at the beginning and the hand held mixer later on. However if I had a blender it would be easier to put all ingredients in and blend until smooth.

Servings: 4 tiny jars

Ingredients:

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons of cacao powder
  • ½ teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons of almond milk

To garnish:

  • raspberries
  • shreadded chocolate (optional)

Directions:

  1. Place the avocado and banana to tall container and mash with potato masher until completely smooth.
  2. Add the cacao powder, cinnamon and milk and mix with hand held mixer for 2 – 3 minutes.
  3. Scoop the mousse into tiny jars or small bowls.
  4. Refrigerate for few hours.
  5. Garnish before serving.

Notes:

If you own a traditional blender directions are even easier. Put all ingredients in the blender and blend for 2-3 minutes. Done.

The mousse was sweet just enough and with raspberries it was perfect combo. But taste the mousse just before scooping it into the jars and if you would like it sweeter add 1 – 2 teaspoons of your favorite liquid sweetener (e.g. maple syrup) and mix it one last time.

ppDSC08211_small.JPG

6 thoughts on “Avocado chocolate mousse

Leave a Reply

